Sustainable Consumption and Production

10yfp

At the United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development (Rio+20), the Heads of State agreed that promoting sustainable patterns of consumption and production is a essential requirement for sustainable development. An operational and concrete outcome was that “the 10-Year Framework of Programmes on Sustainable Consumption and Production Patterns (10YFP) as contained in the A/CONF.216/5 document… “ (paragraph 226, “The Future we Want”; Rio+20 Outcome Document).

This represents a huge lobbying success for the Children and Youth Major Group who have been pushing for concrete commitment to the 10YFP since Johannesburg (2002) and lobbied for concrete language since CSD18 (click on http://www.childrenyouth.org “history” tab to read our past statements and lobby points on SCP).

It gives me great pleasure to announce that after a highly competitive application process with over 68 nominations, the following focal points will be representing the Major Group of Children and Youth as our stakeholder focal points for the next two years:

Latest News

We have been active in the 10 YFP SCP process. You can read the latest news from our activities in the SCP process here

Statements and Positions

We have the right to make statements behalf of Children and Youth. We have given statements on different issues and from different perspectives in preparation meetings. You can download the chronological list of all our statements here.

Deputy Organising Partners

Each of our groups is lead by two coordinators who are called “Deputy Organising Partners” or “Global Focal Points”. They are selected by the Working Group themselves and hold the role on a personal mandate. We have listed here the organisations that they are involved in for clarity and the regions of the world they come from.

David David Collste
Western Europe and Others
European Youth Forum & Children and Youth Internationaldavid.collste@childrenyouth.org
Husni Mohamed Husni
Asia and Pacific
Commonwealth Youth Council and Peace Child Internationalhusni.mohamed@childrenyouth.org

*** Due to elections that have just taken place for the Organising Partners new nominations from Working Groups themselves will take place over the next few months. ***

COMMUNICATIONS COORDINATORS

Roli Mahajan
email: roli@childrenyouth.org

Caveeta (Kabita)  Gautam
Nationality: Nepal
email: kabita@childrenyouth.org

Regional Focal Points

focal points_test2

In the SCP process we have regional focal points to ensure that young people are represented from around the world. There details are:

Regional Focal Points

AFRICA

Kassim Hussein
Nationality: Ghana
email: kassim@childrenyouth.org
NGO: Greener Impact International
Accredited by: ECOSOC

ASIA AND THE PACIFIC

Ms. Wen Hoe
Nationality: Singapore
email: wen@childrenyouth.org
NGO: IFMSA
Accredited by: ECOSOC

Alternate
Mr. Bibhusantosh Behera
Nationality: India
email: bibhusantosh@childrenyouth.org
NGO: UDYAMA
Accredited by: ECOSOC

EASTERN EUROPEAN

Alternates

Айдана (Aidana) Жалелова (2014-onwards)

Nationality: Russia
email: aidana@childrenyouth.org

LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN

Juan José Galeano
Nationality: Argentina
email: juan@childrenyouth.org
NGO : Asociacion Civil Red Ambiental
Accredited by: UNEP

WESTERN EUROPEAN AND OTHER COUNTRIES

Ms. Sarah Dayringer
Nationality: USA
email: sarah@childrenyouth.org
NGO: Citizens Network for Sustainable Development
Accredited by: ECOSOC

Advertisements

Categories: Task Forces and Process

Tagged as: